Monday, December 27, 2010

Knighthawks Announce 23 Man Roster

The Rochester Knighthawks’ 23-man roster offers fans and media outlets some interesting storylines for the 2011 National Lacrosse League season, which is scheduled to open on Saturday, January 8th in Minnesota against the Swarm. It is a roster that Owner and General Manager Curt Styres has confidence in with three weeks until opening weekend. “We had many difficult decisions. The changes will benefit the Knighthawks,” said Styres. “Compared to last year, we are going to compete every game instead of just showing up for them.”
Here are some storylines for the 2011:
Dirty Dozen: The roster includes 12 new players with the addition of Mike Accursi, Troy Bonterre, Tyler Burton, Jarrett Davis, Colin (Joe) Hall, Pat McCready, Ian Rubel, Josh Ruys, Matt Vinc, Matt Zash, Chase Williams and Cody Jamieson.

Double Trouble: Opponents will think they are seeing double with four pairs of players sharing the same last name. Rochester has Chase and Shawn Williams, Jordan and Colin (Joe) Hall, and Pat and Joel McCready, and Scott and Shawn Evans.

All in the Family: For the first time in team history, an uncle and his nephew will play on the Rochester Knighthawks. There have been many brother combinations, but never this rarity. Pat McCready returns to play for Rochester for the first time since the 2001 season, while his nephew Joel enters his third season with the Knighthawks.

A Perfect 10: On Friday, Cody Jamieson, who was the 2010 No. 1 overall pick, inked a league-record 10-year deal. Jamieson played two seasons at Syracuse University and scored the overtime game-winner in the 2009 National Championship game. In 2009, he was named the winner of the Jim Murphy Award as the Major Series Lacrosse MVP, the Gene Dopp Award as outstanding rookie and the Buck McDonald Award as the league’s top scorer with 48 goals and 48 assists for 96 points. It was the first time in MSL history anyone has won all three awards in the same season.

We’re No. 1: Rochester has three of the last four No. 1 picks on its roster: Jamieson (2010), Sid Smith (2009) and Jordan Hall (2007). Hall was the first overall pick of the New York Titans, while Smith was chosen last year by the Knighthawks.

Draft produces key additions: Rochester has three draft picks from this September’s NLL Entry Draft on its roster with Jamieson (No. 1), Jarrett Davis (No. 5) and Josh Ruys (No. 12) making the 23-man roster.


PS: The 2011 Rochester Knightawks home opener is Saturday January 15th at 7:35 as they host the Toronto Rock at the Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial.